Book Review Friday–Ruth

I didn’t have any “pop-out” moments with Ruth.  Nothing to really make me stop and say “Wow”.  Which has been discouraging me, but then I remembered that I’m still mulling over what really got me last week in 2nd Thessalonians.  So maybe every week doesn’t have to have a pop-out. 

Back to Ruth. 

There are lots of words that you could use to describe Ruth, but the one that comes to mind most for me is faithful. Ruth was faithful. Despite what happened in her life–losing her husband, leaving her home, living with a bitter in law–she remained faithful. And God blessed her. She married Boaz, and she went on to have a very important descendant. She was David’s great-grandmother, and Jesus was a descendant of David!

(1:16&17) Don’t urge me to leave you or turn back from you.  Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay.  Your people will be my people and your God my God.  Where you die I will die and there I will be buried.  May the Lord deal with me, be it ever so severely, if anything but death separates you and me.

These verses remind me of another verse.  Phillipians 4:11 For I have learned whatever state I am in, to be content.

Yes, Ruth was faithful.  I want to be faithful.  I want to be a Ruth