BRF– Psalms 8-14

I don’t even want to go back and see when my last BRF was. Too long.

I missed last week, so I just jumped right in for this week. We read Psalms 7-14. If you don’t know what Book Review Friday, go visit Shannon at Watch the Sky.

I’m going to apoligize in advance for how short this is going to be. I may be a teensy wittle bit exhausted from our big Awana finale last night.

I love Psalms 8:3-4 “When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him? And the son of man, that thou visitest him?”

What a reminder of God’s hugeness, and my tinyness.  Humbling. 

Psalm 9:1 “I will praise thee, O Lord, with my whole heart; I will shew forth all thy marvelous works.”

Do I really praise God with my whole heart?  With everything in me?  Always?  When things are going well I do.  But what about when everything isn’t going the way I had planned.  When the kids are sick?   When hubby’s work is cut way back?  When my back pain flares up?  When money is tight?  When hubby is considering a carrer change that could have major implications on life as we know it?  When regular little life irritants get in the way? 

Do I always praise God then with my whole heart? 

Nope. 

Do I need to?

Absolutely!

Maybe if I was praising God with my whole heart, even through the difficult times, then maybe the difficult times wouldn’t seem like such difficult times.  (How many times can you type difficult times in one sentence??)

Lots of other things jumped out at me, but that’s all I’ll write about today.

It’s not to late to join in.  Grab your Bible, read in Psalms, and write about what spoke to you.  Then leave a comment over at Shannon’s so everyone else can read your review.

4 Responses to “BRF– Psalms 8-14”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Yeah. I should be praising God with my whole heart, too. This was a great post – thank you!

  2. anniepannie Says:

    Great review, Kim! It’s good to see you back! I think most of us don’t want to know when we wrote our last review. 🙂

  3. Jenn Says:

    This is good stuff Kim, glad to see your review! I sorta round about kinda talked about the same thing only different…teehee 🙂

  4. watchthesky Says:

    Hello there Kim. Well, we both picked the same section. 🙂 Aren’t we cool.
    Really good review. Good point on the praising God the whole time. Thoughts to ponder.


Leave a Reply

