Child-Eyes

I was driving last week and I went down a road that I usually don’t go on anymore. And I saw a house that I spent a lot of time at as a child. The parents were friends with my parents and their 3 kids were the same ages as the three of us. Man, do I ever have some memories of that place.  And driving by, they all came flying right back at me. And I spent the rest of my drive re-living some major memories from my childhood. Fun!!  Lasagna for lunch after church, building boats in the basement,  playing baseball, hiding out in the treehouse.  Sunny afternoons in the sun porch, Planting  acorns in the driveway.  Making plans to be a missionary with my best friend, marrying him, and living on a houseboat.   The night that they moved away.

But I was also amazed by something as I viewed this house again. I couldn’t believe how small it was. When I was a kid, that house was huge!  HUGE!!  Or so it seemed to my child-eyes.  Main floor, upstairs, and a basement!  A dining room, and a sun porch. It seemed so big to me then. But now, I realized that it really wasn’t that huge house that I remembered.  Just a small little 2-storey home.  Funny how things seem different when we see them through child-eyes, isn’t it?

And then I got to thinking.  Do I still view God with my child-eyes?  With eyes so full of wonder, so amazed at His hugeness?  Even though I’m now a grown-up, is God still as big to me now as we was back when I was first getting to know Him?

I pray that I will never forget the hugeness of God.  Never stop being amazed by the wonders of Him.  Never not be quietly in awe of His Holiness.

Isaiah 6:3 ” Holy, Holy, Holy is the LORD of hosts: the whole earth is full of His glory.”

2 Responses to “Child-Eyes”

  1. watchthesky Says:

    Good Kim. Love how you write stuff. 🙂

  2. Jenn Says:

    oooo, this is good food for thought. thanks 🙂


Leave a Reply

