Why I’m glad…….

So God really used my time without a computer to teach me, and to draw me closer to Him. I’m ashamed that I was spending so much time in front of the computer that He had to take it away from me to get my attention. But He certainly got it.

One thing that God has been teaching me is about my prayer life. I talk with God all through the day, but one night I realized that all I’m doing is talking at God, and I wasn’t taking the time for Him to talk to me.  My prayers were all bullet point prayers. Short, to the point, and usually because there was a need. “God, please let the traffic be decent on the highway, cause I’m already late  for this appointment”, or “God, please make T. stop coughing tonight, so that we  can all get some rest”.   And at the end of the day, I would think I should pray, but I’ve been talking to God all day, so I’m okay.

Not so, my friends, not so at all.

Communication with God is just like any other communication. It takes two.  It drives me crazy when I’m trying to talk to someone, and they’re always interrupting, bringing the conversation to them. Not that I need it to be about me, but it does need to be a two-way street.  Well, that’s what I was doing with God.

And then I would wonder why life was going crazy!

I’ve started a prayer notebook,  and I’m reading through the  Bible looking for verses on prayer.  Whenever I find one, I write it out in my (cute!)  little notebook.  Then at the end of the chapter, I go back and also write down what each verse is telling me about prayer.  

I’m starting with some of the shorter NT books,  so I don’t get over-whelmed,  and then quit.  Cause trust me, I know myself very well,  and that is exactly what would happen.   Thre other wonderful benefit to this of course, is that I’m into the Word, another thing that I sometimes struggle to find the time for.

I’ve also started a prayer journal.  Again, it’s a cute little chipboard album,  with binder rings, so I can put more pages in as needed.   I have to admit that often when people say  can you pray for so and so,  or can you remember this in your prayers, I always say of course I will, and then often I forget.  Which is why I need to write things down. 

And by writing this down here, I’m also making myself accountable to you, my three faithful readers.

Being in communion with God is the sweetest joy!  I can’t imagine living life without it.  And for that reason I’m  thankful that I lost my computer for a while.

2 Responses to “Why I’m glad…….”

  1. Andrea Says:

    I love this!

    I went through this realization last summer, and sometimes still need a good reminder. I never used to prayer journal, but I do it a lot more now. It’s especially good on the mornings I am so tired I can barely keep my eyes open!

  2. watchthesky Says:

    So so true! I’m jealous of your cute notebooks… which doesn’t make sense, since I have one. 🙂 But I don’t have a prayer journal and its something I like the thought of. Maybe next time I’m out…..


Leave a Reply

