His Strength, not mine

I was feeling restless yesterday, and was flipping through my Bible.  This is the passage that I came to and stopped to really read, and think about.  I’m often guilty of just reading over verses, but not really stopping to think about what I read.  But still patting myself on the back after, because after all, I just read my Bible.  The older I get and the more I strive to serve and love my God fully, the more I know that it’s in the studying and pondering that I really get the benefits. 

Psalm 29

1. Give unto the LORD, O ye mighty, give unto the LORD glory and strength.

2. Give unto the Lord the glory due unto His name; worship the LORD in the beauty of holiness.

3. The voice of the LORD is upon the waters: the God of glory thundereth: the LORD is upon many waters.

4. The voice of the LORD is powerful; the voice of the LORD is full of majesty.

5. The voice of the LORD breaketh the cedars; yea,  the LORD breaketh the cedars of Lebanon.

6. He makeththem also to skip like a calf; Lebanon and Sirion like a young unicorn.

7. The voice of the LORD divideth the flames of fire.

8. The voice of the LORD shaketh the wilderness; the LORD shaketh the wilderness of Kadesh.

9. The voice of the LORD makeththe hinds to calve, and discovereth the forests: and in his temple doth every one speak of his glory.

10. The LORD sittethupon the flood; yea, the LORD sitteth King forever.

11. The LORD will give strength unto his people; the LORD will bless his people with peace.

I love this passage.  It’s one of my new favorites.  It starts with my role.  Give to the LORD.  Give to Him glory and strength.  Worship Him.  Worship Him in the beauty of His holiness.   The beauty of His holiness.  I love this.  How often I skip over that.  God is holy, yup I know, been hearing it since I was born.  But to stop and think on His holiness.  The beauty of His holiness.  Perfection.  It baffles my mind, and makes me cringe in my imperfection.  To stop and think on how holy God is makes me also stop and think on how un-holy I am.

The next few verses describe God’s majesty, His strength.  What His voice alone can do!  Powerful, full of majesty, breaks the cedars, divides flames, shakes the wilderness!  Wow!

The last verse is my favorite.  It’s a promise.  “The LORD will give strength unto His people;  the LORD will bless His people with peace.”

And we just saw His strength described in the previous verses.  We know what He can do!

I don’t know where you are in your life right now.  But I do know where I am, and I know that I have not been relying on the Lord’s strength.  I’ve been trying to do things myself.  Trying to find my own solutions to  things that have been springing up like dandelions here lately. 

Relying on His strength, being blessed with His peace.  How could I choose any other way?

I pray that you, too, will know His strength and peace today.

3 Responses to “His Strength, not mine”

  1. Jenn Says:

    maybe you read this and wrote about it for me today too 🙂

  2. Andrea Says:

    I read this in the NLT and the Message just now. The Message starts with “Bravo, God, bravo!”

    Indeed.

  3. Sarah (Genesis Moments) Says:

    Great post. Thank you for sharing. It is an awesome joy to praise our Father for His Holiness and bask in His love as we give ALL to Him.

    On a fun note, you won the calorie counter over at Reviewsings! If you haven’t already sent your address to Jo-Lynne, you can send it to me too since I have to send it to the company for them to ship it. Enjoy!

    Have a wonderful week before Christmas!


Leave a Reply

