BRF–Mark

So, I thought that this weeks assignment–reading the book of Mark through once during the week–would be no problem.

I was wrong. I got to chapter 9.  But I’m posting anyway, and I’ll finish reading Mark next week.

I was big-time convicted reading this book.

First in 1:18: “and straightway they forsook their nets and followed Him.” Straightway.  Not, let me think about; weigh the pros and cons;  talk to hubby;  consider the bigger picture. None of that, just straightway. Immediately. Yikes. How many times has God nudged me to do something, and I stop and think about it, worry about how it will affect my family and my plans. If God’s telling me to do something, I can know that it’s the right thing to do, the only thing to do. I want to be like Simon and Andrew, who immediately left their nets and followed Him.

It’s easy sometimes to pretend to be following God, to be doing the things that I’m supposed to be doing, but if I’m not doing it in the right spirit, I may as well not bother.

Which explains why this next verse “got” me.
7:6 “….this people honoureth Me with their lips, but their heart is far from Me.”

Is that me? Honestly, yes, it sometimes is.

My heart’s desire is to be the woman that God wants me to be. Following His will, trusting Him for everything, and striving to be Christ-like. And if I’m not living like that, then everything I do for Christ, doesn’t matter. If it’s not in my heart, then it doesn’t matter if it’s on my lips.  I want my heart to always be near to God.

Be sure to head over to Watch the Sky to read some more reviews. Or read all (or a few chapters) of Mark today, and write your own review.   There’s no way you’ll regret it–you may be convicted, but you’ll also be blessed.

One Response to “BRF–Mark”

  1. watchthesky Says:

    Awesome review. Christians are the only people I know that think its great when they are convicted and get a kick to the backside. 🙂 The verses you pointed out are so good… and terribly convicting. That’s a good thing.


Leave a Reply

