A tough decision

This is my final post.  This has been on my mind for the past little while, just how much time I spend everyday on the computer.  I sit down for a minute, and then suddenly an hour has gone by.  My mouse broke last week, and I was amazed at how much I was able to get done, when I wasn’t using the computer.  (We only have dial-up, which slows everything down, as well) Life is busy, and the reality for me is, that if I’m spending a bunch of time of the computer blogging, then obviously something else is being neglected.  And it was the important stuff.

This is a tricky post to write, because I don’t want anyone to feel that I’m pointing the finger at them.  This is all about me.  Many people can balance their blogs with their busy lives, and they do it beautifully.  I can’t.  And if it’s taking from the important stuff, then I have to let it go.  At the end of my life, I don’t want to be remembered for the posts that I wrote on my blog, I want to be remembered for the things I did with and for others.  I want my kids to remember the games we played together and the fun we had, and that I was there for them, not spending my free time sitting at the computer desk.  Mackenzie was saying grace the other night at supper, and along with being “thankful for the food, and everything You give us, Thank You that Mommy can play on the computer a lot”.  Ouch!

I started blogging just as an opportunity to remember what my days were like with 3 little ones, and to give family and friends a way to keep up with our lives.  At that time I had no idea what a huge community there was out there.  And I love the bloggy-buds I’ve made–but when reading about their lives takes over looking after my own life, then I need to slow down. 

And please, please don’t think that if you blog, and raise a family and maintain a house, or whatever you do, that I am in any way judging you. That is not my intention, and I would be devastated to learn that anyone thought that. This is just a personal decision that I’ve had to come to.

I’ll still be reading your blogs–it’ll just be every other day or so, instead of every day, or sometimes even more often.

See you in your comments!

10 Responses to “A tough decision”

  1. girlymama Says:

    i’ll miss your blogging, but it sound slike your making a wise decision!!

  2. jpslauen Says:

    OH KIM! Well all I can say is it’s a darn good thing I know you IRL cuz I would miss you so. But with Awana and puppets and stuff, I’ll still get my Kim fix. I so will miss your blogging though!

    I know what you mean, though. I’ve had to check myself a few times on the time I spend on the computer. I read way less blogs now and blog less often so I don’t neglect more important things 🙂 I can’t say I’m totally un-addicted, I still spend more time on this thing than I should!

  3. jpslauen Says:

    PS: You won again on BooMama’s blog! Horray for you!

  4. JenLo Says:

    I hear ya! I think a lot of us moms have struggled with this as well.

  5. tara Says:

    Kim, I’ll miss your blogs too, but I so understand your decision. I think you are very wise and.. yeah, I know I haven’t met you in person, but I can tell that you are an amazing mother. God has so blessed you and your family, and I know He will keep on blessing you. 🙂 ~ Tara *Romans 12*

  6. Jill Says:

    I just found your beautiful blog and now you’re leaving. May blessings to you in your life journey. Please stop by my site xanga.com/buana when you get a chance and let me know how the kittens are progressing.

  7. happytoknowhim Says:

    Oh Kim you will be missed. I love reading your blogs but I completely understand your decision. I know that if I had a young family I would not be able to spend the time I do reading blogs and posting. Hope the next time I am in the Maritimes I get to meet you in person.
    Love and God bless you richly as you serve Him and your family.

  8. dcrmom Says:

    Kim, I applaud you. I have often thought I should do the same. Instead, I think I will get up right now and go do something productive. And once again try to regulate my computer time better. I hope to still see you ’round. I will miss reading your blog.

  9. wheretheboysare Says:

    I know exactly what you mean and I support what you are doing for you and your family. Thanks for making me stop and think. Maybe I’ll set a timer for myself and limit my time blogging, reading blogs, etc. like I do with the kids and their video games. 😉

  10. Another One Bites The Dust Says:

    […] one of my long-time readers and commenters, Kim over at Pressing on Toward the Goal is calling it quits on the blog.  Earlier this summer, my dear friend Clemntine of What’s Up Buttercup did […]


Leave a Reply

