Just me and the girl

Just M. and I here today.  D. is away at Bible camp.  He went on Sunday and will be coming home on Friday night. T. is at my parents.  He went last night and I think is coming home tomorrow.  And I’m on vacation.  So it’ll just be her and I today.  And it’s 9:00 and she’s still sleeping.  Which is perfect because it gives me a chance to get some housework done  play on the computer.  I think we’re going to go blueberry picking today.  We have a great blueberry field very close to home.  My garden never came to be this year, but I did plant a blueberry bush.  So hopefully next year, we’ll have our own blueberries. We’ll still visit the blueberry field, though, just cause, you know, we always do.  Tradition. I love traditions!

Completely unrelated….

We have lived in our home for almost 9 years now, and believe it or not, there are still some boxes upstairs in the garage.   Things that have just never been unpacked. Obviously things that we don’t really need.  The only thing, though, is that many of these boxes have been dug into, while we look for that one thing that just be in there.  And it’s also where I was storing all the baby clothes.  Which also would be neatly packed away, and then I’d think of something I wanted to find to give to someone, and well, you can imagine.  The upstairs of the garage looks like a clothing factory, old furniture factory, and a Christmas decoration factory all threw up!  A huge , completely dis-organized mess.  And one that we always talk about cleaning up, but never get around to doing.

Here’s the problem.  Upstairs in the garage is where Ray and Mike are planning to set up their business.  You see where this is going, right?

Ray didn’t want to start last night, but my motto is, “Once begun, a job is half done”.  And I knew that it was just a matter of starting, and then it wouldn’t seem so bad.  So we did.  And while we’re not quite half done, we’ve definitely made a dent in it.  As I sort through stuff, I ask myself, if I was packing up to move, would this be going with me?  It makes it much easier to decide what stays and what goes.  And believe me, most of it is going. 

So that’s our project.  And the fact that my living room still doesn’t have paint on the walls?  Well, I keep telling myself that maybe if I help out with the garage without complaining, maybe finishing my living room will be next. 

Cause, you know, it’s only been over a year since it was started!!

I hear M. waking up, so I’m off to enjoy my day with her!

One Response to “Just me and the girl”

  1. jpslauen Says:

    There, finally got the rest of this post read!

    I fear my house will never be finished either…sigh

    Kudos in your garage cleaning! We need to do our basement, it’s scary down there.


Leave a Reply

