Never again……

Never again will I leave my house without my camera.

Okay, I realize that sounds a little melo-dramatic.  And I’ve already left without my camera.  When I went out today, I didn’t have it.   But considering the photo-op that I missed yesterday, it seems like an appropriate title!

It was a very busy, very full, very enjoyable weekend!  It seemed as though we went full-tilt ahead all weekend, and I think we really did.  One thing, though, that we just didn’t have time to fit in was getting up to Ray’s parents to bring home a load of wood.  And since Ray is about to get extremely busy with work, we’re trying to get a load whenever possible.

So we decided to run up last night after supper.  It’s about an hour drive, so we thought we’d leave around 5, get there shortly after 6, load wood and visit until around 7:30, and still be home before dark.  That was the plan, and that’s pretty much how it happened.  Except for the photo-op.

On our way up, just as we got to the foot of the mountain, a huge cloud mass covered the sun, and huge ray’s came down and seemed to cover the valley from mountain to mountain.  It was breath-takingly-beautiful,  and made me long for Heaven.  And I didn’t have my camera.

Then,  just as we arrived it started to rain.  A bit of a downpour, then drizzle.  Nothing serious.  Just before we left, the sun came out again.  And we spotted the rainbow.  Now, I love rainbow’s.  And I don’t know about you, but I still get excited when I see a rainbow.  As we headed down the shore, the entire rainbow was there, as bright as I’ve ever seen one.  And I didn’t have my camera.  Then as I looked closer, there was a second rainbow over the first one.  Two rainbows!  It was beautiful.  By this time, Ray was starting to tease me about my lack of picture-taking capabilities, due to lack of necessary equipment at that time!

We continued along the shore road, then turned down the road to take us back down the mountain. The rainbows were gone, it had stopped raining, and I was just settling down in my seat to enjoy some day-dream time ( Does anyone else do that?), when I heard Ray let out a screech.  I looked out the window to see what he was pointing at, and there sitting on the side of the road was a black bear.  A rather large black bear!  We slowed right down to see it, and as we were going by, if I had of opened my window, I could have reached out and touched it.  But, you know… I kinda like my arm.

Or taken a picture, if I had my camera!

We drove a little further ahead, and then pulled over to watch it.  And she was kind of in a dip in the road, so when we pulled over we could see her so clearly.  And I know she was a she, because when she started across the road, two little cubs came out of the woods and followed her across.  One of them fell onto his little bum, and then back the other way.  We kept watching,  and the little one that went back came across the road again, and behind it another little cub.  Which almost got hit by a car.  But it didn’t. 

It was amazing!  The kids were thrilled, and that’s all they’ve been talking about, and drawing pictures of.  And if I had my camera with me, there would be a shot of the bear and her 3 cubs, and the sun rays and the double rainbow to go along with this post.  But there’s not.  Because in case you haven’t heard…….

I forgot to take my camera with me!

4 Responses to “Never again……”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Mister man!!! I’m going to forget my camera sometime, I’d love to see all that kind of stuff!!! 🙂

  2. jpslauen Says:

    Kim, I love this post…it was both witty and informative 🙂 And oh my stars! I love that you saw all those wonderful things! I was reading and I was all, oh I love heaven rays…and then I was a little mroe excited by the double rainbow AND THEN you saw bears! What a great night! Too bad you didn’t have your camera…teehee

  3. cheryl Says:

    oh man, a bear!!!!?????!!!!!!!! I think I would have passed out right on my face!! terrified of bears!! Don’t you wish you were an artist when you seen sights like that? Two nights ago Hubby and I were heading out for an ice cream and standing right in our back yard was a buck, a doe and a little fawn. AND I DIDN”T HAVE MY CAMERA!!

  4. Kelly Says:

    Wow! I guess your bears beats our turtle by the side of the road.

    How are the fish doing? Bet they can breath alot easier now. You told me not to blog about it but you never said anything about leaving a comment! HA


Leave a Reply

