BFR-Mark 1-4

Well, I’m going to try again.  I haven’t had much success the past few weeks with writing book reviews.  The words just haven’t been coming and my thoughts have not been clear enough to try to make them make sense. But, I have still been reading and also really enjoying everyone else’s reviews.  Thank you ladies for your encouragement.

One thing that really got me thinking from this portion of scripture is how when Jesus called the disciples, they just left everything and followed Him.  I wonder if that is a literal “left” or a figurative “left”?  Did they actually drop everything at that moment, which is what the wording sounds like, or is it more figurative, that it is the way of life that they left?  I guess it doesn’t matter, because either way, am I really willing to do that?  Am I willing to “drop everything and go where He wants me to go?  I like to think that I’m supposed to be right here, but am I really or is it just convenient to think that right now? And if it means leaving a way of life, do I have things in my life now that I need to leave behind? Of course I do. (And I’m not going to start naming things, just know that I’m trying to work through what I know needs to change.) But am I really willing to completely leave behind everything that I need to, to be a follower of Christ. I want to be. (But am I?) It brings to mind the little song that we sing with the kids at AWANA–“Here Am I Lord, Send Me”. I sing the words, but do I really mean them with my heart?

I also loved whaen Jesus calmed the stormy sea. This is the same Jesus who is able to calm my stormy seas. And I know that. But I think often when things get stormy here in my little world, Jesus would need to say to me, as He did to the disciples “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

The biggest thing for me was in 1:35. If Jesus got up early and went off by Himself to pray, then how much more do I need to do that. Definitely something to work on .

Looking forward to continuing on in this Book. And I have to admit that the first few times I read it, I found myself wondering what there was there that I could apply to my own life. It’s definitely there, I just need to be diligent to find it. Happy Friday, everyone!

2 Responses to “BFR-Mark 1-4”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Hey Kim, Great to see your review!
    I feel the same as you about everything you wrote.
    I’m pickin up what your puttin down. 🙂

  2. Jenn Says:

    kim, you said some things that i couldn’t organize in my head this week. thanks 🙂 your review is an encouragement to me


Comments are closed.

