Just begin

I read this great quote a few days ago.

“If you want to get something done, the first step is to begin.”  (Or something like that!)  How simple, yet how thought-provoking for a procrastinator such as myself. 

How often do I get up in the morning with the best intentions for the day, make my lists and look forward to seeing everything checked off.  How often does it really happen like that?  Not nearly enough.  I love to make lists.  I have cleaning lists, grocery lists, people to call lists, projects lists, things that definitely need to be done lists,  event lists, and on and on.  My problem? I spend so much time on my lists, that I don’t accomplish what I had planned to.   But no matter how much I plan, if I don’t start, I’ll never get anything done. 

So today, instead of a great big list of all the things that I would like to get done, I just wrote down the 2 major things that I need to get done today.  And I still have a great big list of things that I would like to get done.  But my 2 major things are….done!!  Now, without those hanging over my head, I can do the other things.  And maybe even have time for the more enjoyable things–like sewing Mackenzie’s new Princess curtains. Yup, the key to getting things done is really quite simple–just begin!

And, since playing around on the computer is not a must-do on my list today, or any day for that matter, it’s time to shut it down. I have this friend, see.  I’m still convinced that she’s talking about me (she must have just gotten confused about all the things that don’t apply to me (the i-mac, grading the math papers….!)

5 Responses to “Just begin”

  1. girlymama Says:

    oh my goodness. are we twins?

    i LOVE lists. i make them all. the. time. don’t you also love having a bunch of different colored pens to make your lists with? (some people just don’t get the thrill of lists. they’re wierd.)

  2. Kim Says:

    We just may be twins! I write everything in one color of ink but then use other colors to underline, make stars, etc…

  3. dcrmom Says:

    Hmph. Guess I’m weird. 😉

    I was gonna comment and say, I am so NOT a list maker. They give me hives. I just do things as I think of them. As a result, I’m always flitting from one thing to another, but somehow everything usually gets done. Somehow. I know, this is making yall want to scratch, isn’t it?

  4. Charmin Says:

    I love lists. And I love quotes. And I am such a procrastinator. One of my new favourite quotes is:
    “Begin at the beginning and go on till you come to the end; then stop.” (Lewis Carroll)

    My friend is so encouraged to know that she is not the only one who struggles sometimes. 🙂

  5. Kelly Says:

    I have to say ditto, ditto, ditto to Charmin…I LOVE lists, quotes and I am a procrastinator. I also love pens in different color ink (I just got this really cool turquoise blue one! see, it’s the little things in life…). I also have to confess I have a “little bit” of an addictive personality. You know, scrapbooking, card making, blogging, reading. I guess we all have our “hills and bumps” to battle.


Leave a Reply

