ABC’s of homemaking

Jenn just tagged me with this. Can I just say that I am sooooo excited to be tagged!!!

Aprons- Y/N? I have one apron, and it’s a Christmas one. So you could say that I’m festive all year-round! I am in the market foir a new one, though..

Baking- Favorite thing to bake? Chocolate Chip cookies. I love how excited the kids get when they come into the kitchen and see me making cookies. Which doesn’t happen nearly enough. Diabetic husband, you know. (Makes a good excuse, anyway!)

Clothesline- Y/N? Oh yeah! My dryer is actually still broken so I use my clothesline whenever possible. And when it’s not possible, I dry laundry over the woodstove. And you know what, it’s really not that inconvienent! And guess who’s power bill is going to be much lower this winter!

Donuts- Ever made them? Yup, but did they turn out? Nope. Anyone have a fool-proof recipe for donuts?

Everyday- One homemaking thing you do everyday? Dishes, sweep, pick up stuff, tidy up, oh, was it just one thing?!!

Freezer- Do you have a separate deep freezer? Yes, thank goodness. Even though it’s only a small one.

Garbage Disposal- Y/N? We recycle, compost, and garbage bag but we don’t have one of those automatic disposal units if that’s what you mean 🙂 (Stealing your answer, Jenn, cause mine would be exactly the same!)

Handbook- Y/N? Huh? I automatically thought of an AWANA handbook 🙂 (Stealing again, cause I really don’t know what that means!)

Ironing- Love it or hate it? Hate it. I’m a Sunday morning and special occasions only ironer.

Junk Drawer- Where is it? Kitchen.

Kitchen- Design and decorating? Old and soon to be re-modelled. Although if it’s anything like my living room…..

Love- What is your favorite part of homemaking? Knowing my family has a clean home, clean clothes to wear and food (hopefully yummy!) on the table. The satisfaction that comes form taking care of my family.

Mop- Y/N? Yes…when we stick to the floor (I just stole that line from Kelly–sorry!) Actually, I’m getting better at this one. I just mopped a few days ago, and it’s on my list for today.

Nylons- Wash them by hand or in the washer?– By hand, when I don’t ruin them the first time I wear them, that is!!

Oven- Do you use the window or open it to check? Both.

Pizza- What do you put on yours? Pepperoni and cheese for the kids, with onions peppers and mushrooms on mine and Ray’s.

Quiet- What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment? Blog, do sudoku puzzles, or read

Recipe card box- Y/N? Oh yes! I love my recipe box. The recipes, I mean, but the box is pretty cute, too!

Style of house– Little bungalow. 2 bedrooms–yup and 3 kids. Let’s just say that I no longer have a dining room, and my boys share a room that’s right off the kitchen. Although we have big plans for the upstairs. And Jenn, I think Ray was talking to Mike about that last night!

Tablecloths and napkins- Y/N? Tablecloth, often, napkins, usually, but just the disposible kind.

Under the kitchen sink– Garbage can, potatoes, aquarium-cleaning stuff and for some reason a bag of baby food jars that I just never get around to getting rid of. How long has it been since I’ve used those?!!

Vacuum- How many times a week? 5 or 6–I’m obsessive. Once my new floors get down though…..

Wash- How many loads do you do a week? 6 or 7.

X’s- Do you keep a list of things to do and cross them off? Yes, I keep a list but I don’t always stick to it. Take today for example, I had great plans of what was going to get done and look what I’m doing instead! I’m having more fun, though!

Yard- Who does what? Ray mows, even though I love to use the ride-on. I guess he does, too, cause he never lets me!

ZZZ’s- What is your last homemaking task for the day? Usually putting away some laundry, and just general tidying up so I don’t get up to a disaster in the morning.

I’m tagging Kelly and Kinza, and my new blogging buds, Kim and GirlyMama, cause I don’t know them at all, and this seems like a good way to get to know them better! And anyone else who wants to do it. Just be sure to leave me a comment so I can come by and read your answers!

7 Responses to “ABC’s of homemaking”

  1. Jenn Says:

    Thanks for playing! that was fun!

  2. Kelly Says:

    Okay I did it. Wasn’t sure how to do it so I copied and pasted…was that right? I am so “computer challenged”.

  3. Kelly Says:

    I have no idea how my picture got beside my comment!?

  4. Kelly Says:

    I also don’t know how to highlight something and when you click it it takes you there…like someones blog! Is there a blogging course you can take?

  5. Kelly Says:

    okay, i’m really tired now and am going to bed!

  6. anniepannie Says:

    I cannot TELL you how good it feels to know I am not the only person who rips their nylons in the first wear!

  7. Kinza Says:

    How do you know if you’ve been tagged? I am very confused.


Leave a Reply

