Cinnamon Rolls

I told Shannon ages ago that I would post this recipe for her.  I know there was a story behind it, but I can’t remember it now.  (Shannon, maybe you can refresh my memory!)   I do remember we were talking at church about cinnamon buns, and she told me that she’d never made them before without yeast.  So here it is:

Oh, before I forget, I’m including the recipe for the glaze, but I have never made it.  The first time I made this recipe, they were gobbled up before I had a chance to glaze them.  I decided that since evidently everyone liked them just fine without it……..(and it’s just another bit of sugar that Ray doesn’t need).

Cinnamom Rolls:

2 Cups Flour
3 tsp baking powder
2 tsp white sugar
1/4 tsp salt
2/3 Cup shortening
1 egg, well beaten
1/2 Cup milk
1/4 Cup margarine
1 Cup sugar (more or less)
Cinnamon

Combine flour, baking powder, sugar and salt. Cut in shortening.  Add milk and knead lightly.  Roll into a rectangle, about 1/2 inch thick.  Spread with margarine.  Cover with brown sugar and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon.  Roll and cut in 1-inch pieces,  and place on greased cookie sheet.  Rolls shopuld touch each other.  Bake at 425 F for 8-10 minutes. Partially cool and spread with glaze.

Glaze:

2 Cups icing sugar
1 tsp vanilla
Milk, as needed to blend

Posted in Food!. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Perfect timing Kim, Thanks! I’ve been trying to figure out what is special that I can whip up really quick in the morning for ValentiMe’s day. 🙂
    I really don’t remember the story behind it either:(

  2. Jenn Says:

    mmmmm, cinnamon buns…

    I like what you’ve done with the place…a new blog look on valentines day 🙂

  3. Charmin Says:

    (whiny voice) I want a new look for my blog.

    Since I’m avoiding the mountain of tasks awaiting me, I’m taking time to leave comments this morning. 🙂 Love the tea party pictures. Sarah and I had a Valentine’s tea for her friends and their moms a few years ago. Very fun.

  4. Jenn Says:

    Kim, you can get your own heart at http://www.cryptogram.com/hearts (thanks shannon)

  5. Shannon Says:

    Kim I love your new look! I tried to do that with mine a while ago and I just couldn’t figure it out. Maybe you should come help me sometime. 🙂

  6. Kelly Says:

    You are just something else…cinnamon buns and a new look!!!


Comments are closed.

