Priorities, accountability and consistency

I have just recently realized something about myself:

I blog in spells–have you noticed that about me?  I’ll be going along, writing posts, reading posts and leaving comments, and then one I’ll think, “Wow, I’ve been spending alot of time in front of the computer lately”. So then for a few days,(or almost a week, like last week! :)) I don’t post, and than I realize, hey, I haven’t updated my blog in a while, and then it begins again!

What I’ve realized in thinking about this, is that I often look at spending time with God in the same way. I’ll be faithfully having my devotions everyday, spending time with Him, and then one day, I’ll think
well, I’ve been doing good, so it’ll be okay if I miss today. And one day turns into two, then three, and so on, until the day I start to wonder why my life feels like it’s spinning out of control again. It doesn’t take long to figure it out. It’s never okay to put God on the back burner, even just for a day!

If I never blog again, it won’t affect my life at all (except maybe my sanity!), but I can’t neglect the one thing that really matters. And being in God’s word affects every part of my life. I need to be in there, every day, learning and growing. I’m thankful for the consistency and the accountability that Book Review Friday is giving me.

So if ever you don’t see a new post from me for a few days, hopefully I’m still paying attention to the things that matter, the things that are most important!

5 Responses to “Priorities, accountability and consistency”

  1. Shannon Says:

    know what ya mean. 🙂

  2. ladybugfarm Says:

    That’s why we are such good friends…because we are so much alike…and we do recognize the important things in life.

  3. Jenn Says:

    Ah Kim, you have said it so well 🙂

  4. girlymama Says:

    well said. i do the same thing with prayer. doing well, praying, praying, praying. then i realize i’ve slacked off and I’m back at square one, trying to get back into the habit.

    come to think of it, i do the same thing with exercise….

  5. Kim A Says:

    I can relate. I tetter-totter between doing good with prayer and then good with daily devotionals. Rarely do I feel like I am doing good in both areas at the same time.

    I love the book review idea! I hope to join this week. I am doing an indepth study of Esther.


Leave a Reply

