Priorities, accountability and consistency

I have just recently realized something about myself:

I blog in spells–have you noticed that about me?  I’ll be going along, writing posts, reading posts and leaving comments, and then one I’ll think, “Wow, I’ve been spending alot of time in front of the computer lately”. So then for a few days,(or almost a week, like last week! :)) I don’t post, and than I realize, hey, I haven’t updated my blog in a while, and then it begins again!

What I’ve realized in thinking about this, is that I often look at spending time with God in the same way. I’ll be faithfully having my devotions everyday, spending time with Him, and then one day, I’ll think
well, I’ve been doing good, so it’ll be okay if I miss today. And one day turns into two, then three, and so on, until the day I start to wonder why my life feels like it’s spinning out of control again. It doesn’t take long to figure it out. It’s never okay to put God on the back burner, even just for a day!

If I never blog again, it won’t affect my life at all (except maybe my sanity!), but I can’t neglect the one thing that really matters. And being in God’s word affects every part of my life. I need to be in there, every day, learning and growing. I’m thankful for the consistency and the accountability that Book Review Friday is giving me.

So if ever you don’t see a new post from me for a few days, hopefully I’m still paying attention to the things that matter, the things that are most important!

