Book Review Friday–2nd Thessalonians

One thing that really got me about this book, was that no matter what happens here on earth, we have Heaven to look forward to. (v.6-7) “God is just; He will pay back trouble to those who trouble you and give relief to you who are troubled and to us as well. This will happen when the Lord Jesus is revealed from Heaven in blazing fire with His powerful angels.” So the relief to what we’re going through here on earth, our trials and tribulations comes when we finally arrive at our ultimate prize–eternity in Heaven with our Saviour!

Here is what made me sit up and say “Uh-oh”. Verses 4-6. “Therefore, among God’s churches we boast about your perseverence and faith in all the persecutions and trials you are enduring. All this is evidence that God’s judgement is right, and as a result you will be counted worthy of the kingdom of God, for which you are suffering.”

But I’m not enduring trials and persecutions for my faith right now. Actually, life is going along pretty smoothly. And I sit back and think, Wow, I must be doing something right, everything is going so well. But am I, or am I just being complacent? It says that what we are suffering will count us worthy of the Kingdom of Heaven. What if we’re not suffering right now? And who really wants to suffer?

It’s left me with a lot to chew on. Am I really seeking the Lord’s leading in every area of my life? If I was, would I be suffering, or facing more trials? If I’m not being persecuted for my faith right now, am I counted worthy for the Kingdom of Heaven? Do we need to live a life of total suffering and persecution to be counted worthy? It tells us in the Bible that we will be persecuted for our faith, but we also know that God is good and will bless us as well. But, I do think that when things are going along really smoothly, not only do I need to thank God for His many blessings in my life, but I also need to prayerfully consider whether I really am right on track, or do I just think I am. Do I need to dig deeper and make sure that I’m really seeking His will? Because just thinking that I’m seeking His will for my life just won’t cut it. I need to really get into His word, and prayerfully seek Him.

Again Shannon, thank you. Reading this book has really made me think, and search my life. And I needed that.

3 Responses to “Book Review Friday–2nd Thessalonians”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Good review Kim. You’ve made me think too.

  2. Charmin Says:

    I think you’re right. When we are comfortable, we really need to ask ourselves why. Not that we shouldn’t ever be comfortable or enjoy ourselves, but we want to be comfortable because God has blessed us with a time of rest, not because we aren’t doing what we should be!

  3. Jenn Says:

    thanks for the “thinkers” kim. that’s what I’m gonna call it when other people give me more things to think about. which is all of you. I’m glad I didn’t read your reviews before I wrote mine because mine was way different and I would have swayed. I’m like that. Easily influenced. I have to work on that because I am feeling self-concious that my review wasn’t the same as yours. Silly, eh?


Comments are closed.

