A Nasty Habit

I am a nail-biter. I have been a nail-biter for about 30 years now. That’s a long time, and that’s what makes this habit so hard to break. It is time to break it. I have a son who is now a nail-biter, because of me, and I have a little girl who I would hate to see develop this nasty habit.

So the time has come. I’ve tried before, and never succeeded. But I’ve never tried before with my whole network of bloggy friends knowing what I’m doing. You’re all going to help, even if you don’t realize you are. Please, ask me how I’m doing, if you see me, ask to see if they’re any longer. Knowing that lots of people know what I’m doing will get me to succeed this time. Because it is time!

It’s been a few days now, and if you were to look closely, you would see a little bit of white there. And I buffed them all this morning, so they feel smooth, and that in itself is a great motivater for me. Also, Ray gave me a beautiful mystic fire topaz ring for Christmas, and I would love to see it on a hand with nice nails.

So, it has begun.

6 Responses to “A Nasty Habit”

  1. Charmin Says:

    Kim, I am a recovered and sometimes relapsing nail-biter. If I can stop, anyone can. What did the trick for me was acrylic tips, but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend that. They are expensive, they turn your own nails (underneath all that stuff) to jelly, but they are too hard to bite. : ) Taking care of your nails is what motivates me now and also recognizing and avoiding when I’m most likely to start chewing – when I’m reading a book or watching a movie, when my hands are most idle and available.

    I know how exciting that little bit of white is!!

  2. Jenn Says:

    Good for you! I’m happy for you that you have a few days growth and I want to see it on Sunday!

  3. snarflat Says:

    Will do, but please don’t look at my hands they aren’t ready for inspection. 🙂

  4. Kim Says:

    Knowing people are going to want to see them has been the best motivator so far!

    Another day down!

  5. cheryl Says:

    Kim you can buy artificial nails at the drugstore for about $11.00 and it gives you two sets. They usually last a few days, depending on what you are doing with your hands. They are not as hard on your nails as the permanent ones and you would be amazed at how quickly your nails have grown when the artificial ones come off. PS, they look awesome as well!

  6. Cyndi Says:

    I am also trying to break the nail biting habit with no success so far. Your blog has encouraged me and I am going to try harder.


Comments are closed.

