And then there were three….

Found out today that Mackenzie is asthmatic. I just knew that cough sounded familiar (unfortunately). She is thrilled with her new puffers and aero-chamber. I am not so thrilled. Doc said it may be from the Christmas tree, but probably not. Of course, if this all goes away after the tree is gone, we’ll know to go artificial next year.

At least this time I know all the signs and symptoms to look for, and I know when to make a trip to the ER in the middle of the night. Doc let me listen to her chest with the stethoscope. Definitely lots of crackles going on there.

So now three out of five of us have it. Darian thinks he should stay away from Daddy, Travis and Mackenzie so he doesn’t catch it. I guess “contagious” is not a completely grasped word! Of course, if staying away would put an end to some of the sibling “fighting” that’s been going on here lately….

Although, when controlled, asthma is not that hard to deal with. Could be lots worse. And me being completely exhausted from listening to kids coughing all night….? There’s a couple of verses in Philippians to help me deal with that.

“Do all things without murmuring and disputing.” Philippians 2:14

“All things” includes managing my home and looking after my kids needs, even when I’m exhausted.

And one of my favorites.

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13

“All things” Two little words that remind me to do everything without complaining and that Christ gives me the strength to do it.

All things! And suddenly the road seems easier!

Posted in Family. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “And then there were three….”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Sorry you are so tired and about Mackenzie. Poor thing. Not fun. We won’t worry about her being contagious, just come on over for a visit anyway. 🙂

  2. Amy Says:

    hey, welcome to blogging! Hope Mackenzie gets better!

  3. cheryl moody Says:

    Hey Kim, went through the same thing with Justin. He is asthmatic but was always worse at Christmas time. Got rid of the real tree, brought in the artificial and no more Christmas sickness! Have a Merry Christmas, Love Cheryl

  4. Jenn Says:

    Too bad about Mackenzie’s asthma. Hopefully it won’t be any big problem in the future!


Comments are closed.

