Water Water Everywhere!

It’s been one of those days!

Started this morning when I dragged myself out of bed feeling more tired that when I went to bed last night. Which was probably from listening to Mackenzie cough all night. She’s either allergic to our Christams tree, or she may be developing asthma. Could be a cold coming on, but it doesn’t sound like a normal “cold cough” Sounds more like asthma. And trust me, I know the sound of that cough. I’ve been there. I’ve done the emergency room runs in the middle of the night. I’ve done the trips to the family doctor the next day because the emerg doc didn’t think it was an asthma attack, but it really was. (Done that scenario a few times–never any fun.) Travis has not had an asthma attack in over a year, and I’m really hoping that that is the end to the middle of the night asthma trips for us. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Then I dicovered that the kitten had peed on the mat in the porch in the night. Decided to wash the mat in the washer. Had never washed this particular mat that way before. Probably shouldn’t have done it that way today. For whatever reason, the washer plugged up–wouldn’t drain at all. And I had a lot of laundry to do today. Oh well, couldn’t do anything until Ray got home. When he got home to fix it, he couldn’t find the problem. Took the hoses off. Of course, when he took off the hose, the water in it went all over the porch floor. What’s a little mess like that, right? He brought the hose into the kitchen sink to run water through it. Which of course, went on the kitchen floor. Put the washer back together and it worked! We still have no idea what the problem was. I suspect it had gotten plugged but just moving it out to take it apart jiggled loose whatever it was. Ray left to do some work for Keith. I started to clean up the porch floor. And I’m sure you all know what it’s like when you pull an appliance out from the wall. Perfect oppotunity to clean under it. Got the porch all cleaned up. Came in to start on the kitchen. Discovered that Mackenzie had decided to feed the cats. Cat food all over the kitchen floor. Dish was over-flowing and there was a trail from the dish to the bag with probably another dish full on the floor by the dish. Not a big deal, but not what I wanted to find. I then realized that the boys had been in the bath for quite a while. Went in to check on them. I discovered that they had taken Ray’s brand new bottle of body wash and washed themselves with it. The entire bottle! There were suds everywhere and the bathroom floor was soaked. The only way to get them rinsed off was to turn on the shower and when I went to pull the shower curtain closed, it ripped. Can anything else go wrong? (I should know better than to ask that question!)

Mackenzie is now in bed, sound asleep, and so far no coughing.
Both boys are to bed, smelling very clean, I might add!
The porch is all cleaned, and the second load of laundry is in my now-working washer.
The bathroom is cleaned, especially the floor! (It wasn’t on my to-do list for tonight, but now it’s not on my list for tomorrow either!)
The cat food is all swept into one pile by the cats dish.
The kithen floor has not been tackled yet, but that’s my next thing to do.
The wrapping and Philippians review that I had planned to do tonight did not and will not get done tonight.

And tomorrow’s a new day! (And I won’t have to clean the bathroom or the porch or the kitchen flooor tomorrow!)

Posted in Family. 2 Comments »