I didn’t do it

If you’re waiting for my review of James, unfortunately, you won’t find it here. I tried, I really did, I read it through a few times. Usually with kids being noisy in the background, or while waiting for supper to cook, so I was distracted. I tried at bedtime, too, but I kept falling asleep.

So yes, I failed. But, even through that, I’ve learned, and I’ve been humbled. Being busy, or being tired, or whatever other excuse I can come up with is not a reason for not being in God’s word. There is no valid excuse. And if I’m not right in there, I’m missing that opportunity for growth, and for learning. ( Incidently, I’m also no longer a Proverbs Lady)

Here’s the other thing that I learned. I’ve been putting off writing this post, because I was embarrassed, ashamed even, that I failed at reading James every day. I didn’t want my blogging friends to know. But really, does that even matter if they know? Because God knows! He already knew every day that went by, when I put off reading until it was too late in the day. He knew all the excuses that I made to myself. In the end, it doesn’t matter what my friends think, or how spiritual they thought that I was. All that matters is what I did for God, and how I lived my life for Him.

He knew! And He loves me anyway.

I’m still ashamed that I failed at reading James everyday. But not because of what my friends will think. Because of what my God will think. All that He’s done for me, and I couldn’t find the time to read a little tiny book everyday?

Well, it’s a new month and with that a new book of the Bible. It’s also a very busy month. But this time, reading the book of Habbukuk is at the top of my priority list, not at the very bottom, at the when I can get to it kind of place. Today’s the 4th of December and today is also the first time this month that I read it. But, I read first thing this morning, after Ray had left, but before the kids were up. Very quiet house. And that’s my plan.

Shannon, I love you for coming up with this idea. I just need to remember that I’m doing it for God and for myself, not so I can have my name on the sidebar of Shannon’s blog. And if I fail again, it’s not my friends that I’m accountable too.

So I’m going to try again. But with my priorities in place this time. Yes, I failed last month. But I learned and I’ve even grown through failure.

Which kind of makes it doesn’t seem so much like failure, but a learning process!

3 Responses to “I didn’t do it”

  1. Shannon Says:

    Glad to hear you are still with us. This idea is NOT about perfection, but making new habits to become the women God wants us to be.
    Thanks for reminding me about the sidebar thing, I forgot.:)

  2. Anonymous Says:

    You are so right!! We sometimes get caught up in the “performance” that we miss the real reason. Thank Jesus He loves us anyway.
    Kelly

  3. Charmin Says:

    Well said. I always forget why I am doing this in the first place. Even when I don’t read every day, every time I read God’s Word with a teachable spirit I’m one step ahead of where I was before. (I do hope to become an every day person, though.)

    And as discouraged as I can get with my recent “performance”, when I look at the last year, five years, ten years, I can’t help but see how far all those steps have brought me.

    I’m so glad God doesn’t give up on us!–>


Comments are closed.

