“Too Big to Miss”

I was in the Christian Bookstore in New Minas a few weeks ago, and since they’re closing out, there were lots of great deals. I found a bin of their demo CD’s for $5.00 each. That was exciting enough, but when I got digging, I found 2 Mark Lowry CD’s that I didn’t already have. And that was very exciting for me! I really enjoy Mark Lowry. If you’re not familiar with him, he sings with the Gaither’s, but he’s also a Christian comedian. And I have to say that he is hilarious! His singing voice is just amazing, and he sings some really wonderful songs. (There’ll probably be more posts from me about his songs, because there’s a few that have really touched me.)

So this song is called “Too Big to Miss”, and I have to admit that the first few times I heard it, I really didn’t pay much attention to it. I usually pick up on the music, tempo, etc. first, and that is often the way that I judge whether or not I like a song until I have a chance to really listen to the words. And this is not the kind of song that I would normally listen to. It’s mostly a very upbeat speaking song, with a short sung chorus at the end. Well, I really listened to it one day (it’s now Travis’s favorite song, so we now listen to it all the time in the truck!) It’s a speaking song about the story of David and Goliath, and since Mark is also a children’s author, it’s really geared toward kids. It talks about how David told his brothers that he was going to hit that giant with his his slingshot, and his brother’s response was “Listen little David, you ain’t thinkin straight, that giant’s up there ‘s too big to hit, and your body he will mutilate!” David’s response? “Listen big brother, I’ve seen worse than this, that giant up there ain’t too big to hit, that giant’s too big to miss!”

The singing bit at the end goes like this:
“That giant up there ain’t too big to hit, that giant’s too big to miss. So whenever a giant gets in your way, you just remember this. That the God who invented giants is big enough to whip ’em all. And a stone hurled from the hand of the Lord will make any giant fall.

As most everyone who reads this knows, my friend Kelly is facing a huge giant in her life right now. We’ve all faced giants, but I know that for myself, nothing I’ve ever faced can even come close to fighting cancer. That’s a great big mean nasty giant (to put it in “Giant” terminology). Isn’t it wonderful to know that God is even bigger than that–He’s bigger than anything we can possibly face! And that God has the power to conquer anything–even cancer. Kelly, I think of you every time we listen to that song (which is a lot, thanks to Travis!) We love you and we’re praying that your giant will be “too big to miss”!

4 Responses to ““Too Big to Miss””

  1. Kelly Says:

    Right between the eyes!!!!

    Thanks, Love ya!

  2. Jenn Says:

    I like this post…good food for thought šŸ™‚

  3. Cheryl Says:

    you say it well!–>

  4. sangeeta Says:

    Good Post šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

