All Fired Up!!

Literally–Seriously, you’ll understand why after you read this!

So I get up this morning all fired up to get caught up on some laundry, clean up the house, etc. And I was off to a great start, the laundry was hanging on the line, yesterdays was folded and put away and not just left in the basket, my bathroom is scrubbed and smells like Mr. Clean (love that!), kitchen all cleaned up, cinnamon simmering on stovetop, living room as tidy as can be while renovating. Found some quickly over ripening bananas and thought, wouldn’t fresh banana muffins taste so nice with a cup of tea, a little later on. Made a batch of muffins, and was doing up baking dishes and talking to Lisa on the phone while they were baking. Started to hear a strange popping, crackling sound, glanced toward the oven and thought, Wow, the oven light is very bright today, wonder why? Oh, maybe it’s the FLAMES shooting off the element that’s causing all the bright light!! Somehow, instinct cut in and I remembered to shut off the oven before trying to put it out. And by the time I got the fire extinguisher ready, it had put itself out anyway. And the muffins were ready to come out of the oven, so I didn’t have a batch of wasted muffins to deal with–that would really frustrate me! So hopefully, we’ll just need to replace the element and be back to cooking again! So I continue on with my day, thankful that I was in the kitchen when this happened, so I could get it out quickly. Finished doing the dishes, was just thinking about putting on the kettle for a cup of tea, when I again hear a strange noise and smell something burning, and this time I can see a little smoke around the stove. Check inside, nothing. What is going on now? Sniff the air a little more and realize that the burning smell has an odd cinnamon smell to it. And then I see it, in my rush to turn off the oven, instead of turning off the burner as well, I actually turned it up, and my “simmering cinnamon” boiled dry. And I’m out of SOS pads, so I can’t even clean the pot out yet!

What else can possibly happen today–I guess we’ll just have to wait and see. Hopefully, it can only get better and not worse! And the good thing is that I’m already laughing about it!

5 Responses to “All Fired Up!!”

  1. Erin Says:

    I am so paranoid about my cinnamon burning dry on the stove…glad you were there to catch it!! And I love your hair short, but I think it looks good longer too…hmmm. That’s not very helpful feedback is it đŸ™‚

  2. Erin Says:

    My bathroom was scrubbed this morning and smelled like Mr Clean too…until one of my kids (A GIRL believe it or not) missed the toilet while going potty. Gross.

  3. Kelly Says:

    I am laughing so hard I can barely type. Hope the muffins tasted good?

  4. Kinza Says:

    Yikes!
    Boil some bleach in the pot with a cover on it. That should take the burn right off. At least it does when I burn chocalate in a pot.

  5. Murray's Corner Says:

    oh my word that’s scary! good ting u were in the kitchen!


Leave a Reply

