Grampie’s a Good Man!

Grampie brought a load of wood for us yesterday, and since no one was home, he left it in the yard. So, I found Travis outside today, taking the wood, piece by piece from where Owen had left it, over to the wood shed and leaving it in a pile . “So Daddy won’t have as far to carry it”. Travis then told me that “Grampie’s a good man.” When I asked him why, he told me that Grampie is a good man because he brings wood for us, which is good because it helps to make a big fire in the winter, which keeps our house warm.
Travis was named after his Grampie, his middle name is Owen, and it amazes me how appropriate that was. Owen likes to always be busy doing something–working, doing wood, work around the house and vehicles, building things, and oh yes, can’t forget his favorite, burning! ( That’s a family tease!) Travis is the same way, if you give him a job to do he is so happy, and won’t stop until he’s done, and is very proud of his work. He loves it when Grampie shows up with a load of wood, so he can help Grampie and Daddy unload. I love the lessons he is learning from a load of wood–what hard work is like, that the whole family has to work together, that the comforts that we enjoy usually come from working hard…

I hope that Ray and I never forget how fortunate we are to have our wood delivered to us for free. We really do appreciate it, especially on a chilly winter night, when the fire is blazing and it is so cozy inside.

Thank you Grampie! 

Posted in Family. 6 Comments »

6 Responses to “Grampie’s a Good Man!”

  1. Charmin Says:

    Wow! Free wood from Grampie! How exciting!

    This is our first year to have a big load of wood to stack. It warmed my heart and gave me hope for the future to see Jon teaching my boys how to work together to get the job done. : ) I know what you are talking about! I smile every time I look at that stacked wood.

    I can’t wait to sit in front of my woodstove in the middle of a winter storm! I’ll be making cards with my stamp-a-majig, of course.

    By the way, I called Susan today to book a party for Sept. 19. You’re invited. : )

  2. Erin Says:

    There is NOTHING more cozy then a home warmed up by a fire!!! I never enjoyed stacking the wood, but I loved how warm our house was all winter long!

  3. Leah's Mommy! Says:

    Party for what? Why wasn’t I invited? I’m offended.

  4. Kinza Says:

    YOu’re so lucky to have the fire and the free wood. The pellet stove just isn’t the same. Though Mike likes it because it is way less work!

  5. Kim Says:

    When I have my party, Anne, I’ll invite you!! Nothing like hopping on a plane from Edmonton to NS, just to buy some stamps! Definitely worth it!

  6. Christy Says:

    Tracy was telling me today about your tea party. And then I understood the “muzzle” joke. I thought that I would share my mantra with you: “It is better to be quiet and let people think I don’t know anything than to open my mouth and prove them right!” I like to be quiet in large crowds, as well!! Around my family – that’s a different story.


Comments are closed.

