Our Weekend!

We packed up and left early Saturday morning to go camping in Pictou, with Adam and Candace–Adam works with Ray and we’ve been talking all summer about going camping together. I have to admit that this was the first time that Ray and I have gone camping together. We’ve been planning to every year that we’ve been married but we’ve just never done it. We were going to just go kidless but when Adam decided to take his son, we thought it would be fun for Josh if we took Darian, someone for him to play with, as they’re very close in age. Also, since Darian had been away at camp all week, he needed some time with Mom and Dad alone.
Some of the fun was taken out of the weekend when we got the news that Dave, a co-worker of Ray’s and Adam’s, had passed away that morning. It was such a shock and added a serious note to the weekend. He will be so missed.

Pictou is a great little town. Ray was thrilled to be able to go to the Grohmann Knife Factory. ( Ray collects knives and has always wanted to go there!) Unfortunately, the tours of the factory are only Monday-Friday, so we missed out on that one! We did get to visit the store, though. Apparently we’ll be going back sometime, as Ray found the knife that “he would just love to get for Christmas”!

He wasn’t thrilled with getting our picture taken as the fisherman and lobster, but hey, when you’re a tourist, ….right? We also went to a great craft market, where I found a very neat idea for a baby shower gift–anybody expecting??!! I can’t wait to make it!!

Camping is so much fun–so nice to spend time in the great outdoors! My air mattress deflated in the night, but since Ray and Darian didn’t have one to begin with, I guess I can’t complain! Why does food taste so much better when it’s cooked outdoors? Why couldn’t I stop eating all weekend?!! Why do we always pack way more than we’ll ever need? These are just a few of the questions that I pondered over the weekend!

Nice to get away, and nice to get back home again. Travis and Mackenzie spent Saturday and Sunday with Grammy and Grampy.

So did Ray and I enjoy our first camping trip together?? All I can say is, we’d better keep all the camping stuff together in the garage, because we’re heading out again on Friday night, this time with all 3 kids!! Posted by Picasa

5 Responses to “Our Weekend!”

  1. Christy Says:

    Sounds like you had a great time! We want to go camping, but we need to get past the heat and humidity first. Probably around Halloween will be a good time!! We haven’t went since I was 5 months pregnant with Emma! (It’s been a while.) I was so humungous (spelling?) that time that I made our air mattress go flat – not fun trying to get off the ground and out of the tent! Have a great time this coming weekend with all the kids!!

  2. Kelly Says:

    I really admire you…you are so brave. While I enjoy living in the country I am not the camping in the great outdoors kind of girl…more the chalet on the river sort. Have lots of fun!!

    Oh, we have a queen size air mattress you are welcome to use.

  3. Kim Says:

    So I guess the Mullen’s won’t be going camping with the Wade’s anytime!!

  4. Kinza Says:

    I think that we are going camping sometime this week as well. We don’t really ruff it as Mike takes the pwer box and we have one of those air matresses that is oof the ground. Hopefully the weather will clear up before than. Have a great time with the kids. Think about us and we’ll think aobut you:)

  5. Charmin Says:

    I always thought Darian looked more like his mom, but in these pictures all I see is little Ray!


Comments are closed.

