Thank You Christy!

I finally made Christy’s Monkey Bread last night! I’d been wanting to for a while, but I kept forgetting to buy the Pillsbury biscuit dough. Yesterday I decided to cheat and I made my own biscuit dough (is it really cheating if you make your own, instead of buying the pre-made?). I also don’t own a bundt pan, so I just used a round casserole dish–what kind of woman is married for 10 years and doesn’t own a bundt pan!! Apparently, it’s okay to do it that way–they were delicious!! Travis especially loved them!

Travis–What’s this called, Mommy?
Mommy–It’s Monkey Bread, I got the recipe from my friend in America(My boys are fascinated with America, I knew that would amaze him that Mommy knows someone there!)
Travis–Who made it?
Mommy–I did.
Travis–You did?? (Yes kid, I did, why are you so shocked?!!)
Mommy–Yes, I did.
Travis–All by yourself?
Mommy–Yes, all by myself! (AWWWWWWWW!)
Travis–Well, you have to make more, again and again!

As you can see Christy, it was a hit! Ray and I loved it, as well! (Darian, I know would have, but he is away at camp for the week!) Mackenzie, I’m sure would have loved it more if she had of eaten her supper and was allowed more than just a little bite!

So, my quest today is to see if I can make with Splenda, and Sugar Twin brown sugar, and have it turn out just as good! (Cinnamon is actually good for diabetics–in moderation–something to do with how it helps the body to process the sugar…) And if I can’t, well, this will have to be one of those very rarely treats, that we really look forward to!

Thank you Christy!

Posted in Family. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Thank You Christy!”

  1. Christy Says:

    I’m so glad you liked it!! You are very smart thinking to make your own bread dough!! I will tell you, I have tried and tried to make biscuits and pie crusts, but I just can’t get the hang of it! And my mother-in-law’s are always soooooo delicious that even if I get my pie crusts to stretch across the pie plate, they NEVER taste like hers. I will have to come to NS for a pie-crust-baking-lesson. Spend the whole time doing crusts. Then, maybe I can do biscuits. I can make bread, but my biscuits are always hard rocks. Better to take out to play softball with than anything. but I will keep trying!!! (That’s why it’s so much easier for me to tear off the paper and pop a can and peel off perfectly sliced raw biscuits!)

  2. Kelly Says:

    Everytime I go to your house, which is fairly often, you have something homemade and delicious sitting on the counter. You are such a domestic diva!!!

  3. Kim Says:

    I don’t know about every time!!
    And often, it’s something that I’ve made to bring over to you, but it didn’t turn out! (Betcha didn’t know that, did ya!)

    And Christy, I can’t make pie crusts, either!


Comments are closed.

