Thank You Shannon! (Again!)

Shannon served me a cup of tea yesterday in a delightful little teacup. This made me want to get my pretty teacups out of the garage, and back into use again!

My teacups were not packed away in the garage because I didn’t want to use them–I believe that we should use our pretty things, not pack them away or just save them for company! And if they get broken, well, at least we know that we’ve enjoyed them! My teacups were packed away in the garage because, like the old woman in the shoe, I had so many children, I didn’t know what to do! I know, I know, 3 is not that many, but 3 kids in a 2 bedroom house is a bit of a stretch and you have to compromise. So, my dining room, with its built in china cabinet, where all my pretty things were displayed, became a bedroom for my boys. This is why everything was packed away. So I am on a quest today to find a place in my kitchen for the teacups, and a few other pretty things that I’ve brought back in.

My favorite is the pink one, I just think that it is so pretty and dainty! It’s hard to tell from the angle the picture is taken, but the one in the front is just a little one, perfect for Mackenzie to sip tea with Mommy. My Great-Grandmother gave that one to me, when I was a little girl. And the one in the top picture, is one that Ray’s Great-Grandmother painted herself. She was quite a painter, I also have some linens that she painted on as well as a glass, a plate, a hot pad and a shell, and I think another cup and saucer, which I need to find.

I’ve off to have another cup of tea (It really seem s to taste better in a pretty cup!)
If you’re ever driving by, stop in for a cup of tea–be warned, though, it won’t be served in a mug around here! Posted by Picasa

7 Responses to “Thank You Shannon! (Again!)”

  1. Shannon Says:

    I love your collection! I can’t wait until we’re in our house and I can bring out all my china. It’s been too long.

  2. Christy Says:

    Love your tea cups. They are pretty and so much more special because they each are unique with their own story. I’d love a cup of tea with you. People around here don’t do the “pop over”. I miss pop overs. I’d stop dusting, throw some flip flops on and pop over! Lovely tea cups! And I love the picture, I could see getting that one blown up to an 8×10 and framing it and putting it somewhere in your kitchen or dining room, wherever they would be displayed. Very original.

  3. Kim Says:

    What a nice idea about the picture! I never would have thought of that–just wait, soon I’ll be blogging a picture of my 8×10 picture of my teacups in my kitchen! (I’ll be sure to give you the credit!)
    Next time you get to NS, we’ll have to be sure to have a cup of tea!

  4. Erin Says:

    I love the teacup picture idea too!

  5. Kelly Says:

    I’m on my way over for tea!!!

  6. Leah's Mommy! Says:

    I added you to my links– is that ok?

  7. Kim Says:

    Add away!! I’m going to add you as well, hope that’s okay, You too, Erin!


Leave a Reply

