What a Responsibility!

I pulled out one of my old textbooks from NBBI today (and, yes, blew the dust off of it!).
It’ s called “Christianity Through the Centuries”. Some of you may remember it. Anyway, this is not my usual reading, I enjoy history somewhat, but I find this book quite dry reading. So why am I reading it? I had a conversation with someone the other day, that has made me want to study more the history of Christianity, and since I already had that book in my personal library, it seemed the logical place to start! (If anyone knows of a book about the history of Christianity that may be a bit more enjoyable to read, I would love to hear about it!)
Anyway, I picked it up, blew it off, and opened it up randomly, and this is what I read:

“The present is usually the product of the past and the seed of the future.”

Which means that I am who I am today in part, because of choices that were made for me years ago. My parents were saved and so I grew up in the church, surrounded by Christian people. Has that affected who I am–absolutely! And I am saved today, because my parents brought me up in a Christian home. (Actually,I am saved because of the blood of Jesus, and because He loved me enough to give His life for me.) But, if I hadn’t grown up in a Christian home, would I be saved today? Who knows? And since we live our lives looking forward, to what awaits us after this life, I really don’t need to look back and wonder what might have been. I just praise God that He did save me at such a young age. (I’m so thankful that children matter to God!)

But the present is also the seed of the future. So how I’m living my life today, is going to affect who my kids are in the future. That’s big, and yes, that’s also scary. What responsibility!

But, I don’t need to do it alone. God has given my children to me, and I know that He will give me the wisdom to bring them up right, if I seek it. I just need to do my part, too. I’m so thankful that He has given me the Bible to show me how to raise my kids. I’m also thankful that He has given me other parents, in my life, who are also striving to bring their children up right, and also parents who have successfully brought up their children to be Bible-believing, God-fearing people. So nice to know I’m not in this alone, and that many others before me have been successful!

I have a lot of work to do, if I’m to bring these 3 little kids up the way that I’m supposed to. But as the song says, “With eternity’s values in view”, and that’s how I want to live my life.

(I’m so glad that I’ve committed myself to reading through Proverbs, because I know that it will give me lots of advice, not only about raising my kids, but also, about how I need to live my life to be an example to them.)

10 Responses to “What a Responsibility!”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Sometimes I feel that our kids aren’t grasping what we are teaching them (especially when they are in the middle of a fist fight)but then one of them will do or say something that lets me know they really are taking it all in.
    We have to believe and have faith that once that seed is planted it will take root.

  2. Kelly Says:

    okay, I have a totally unrelated question? I am sure it is really simple but how do I go on other people’s blog sites if I don’t have their blog address? I am so blonde…whoops I mean bald.

  3. Erin Says:

    Hi Kim 🙂

    Just thought I’d leave you a comment and say hi and that I really do enjoy your blogs!! This one especially … It’s nice to know there are godly women out there who care about raising a godly family … people I know I can learn from and look up to!

  4. Shannon Says:

    That was sappy Erin.

  5. Erin Says:

    i’m a sappy kind of girl

  6. Kim Says:

    Nothing wrong with being sappy-I’m kind of sappy myself!

  7. TravellingTracy Says:

    Kim, you are a breath of fresh air! You could write a devotional book. Thank you so much for your thoughts

  8. Shannon Says:

    Isn’t she great. She’s a wonder. Head over to Kelly’s blog and you’ll want to be super woman. I wish I had started getting to know these people a long time ago. Shame on me!

  9. Shannon Says:

    I did read this post finally. It’s good. Real good.

  10. Christy Says:

    You are so right! Sometimes I get scared to death thinking about how I’m going to scar my kids. But, if I rely on myself, they’re going to be messed up. So, I need to remember that today is the seed of the future. I like that. Seeds are just so little and you don’t see the outcome of the labor for awhile, but just because it’s a little seed, doesn’t mean it’s not there. Thanks for reading the “dry” book and giving us the lively condensed version!!


Leave a Reply

