Good and not Harm

I was reading Proverbs 31 the other day, and was making a mental checklist of all the things that I need to work on in my life based on that passage of Scripture (there was a LOT!). When I came to verse 12, which says “She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life”, my first thought was “Oh that’s an easy one, why would I want to bring him harm, of course I would bring him good.” Well my eyes kept being led back to that particular verse, so I knew that maybe I better think about it a little more. And then it hit me–my husband is a diabetic, and not only that, he’s also a diabetic who has not been taking very good care of himself. This has led to proteins leaking from his kidneys, because his sugars have been too high over too long of a period of time. Very recently, actually just the week before last, when the doctor told him that he has to get serious about this, he finally has started really paying attention. Enough that in 2 weeks, his blood pressure has gone back down to normal, and his sugars have dropped from 11’s and 12’s to 6’s and 7’s (ideally, they need to be 5’s, but we’re still really pleased with this improvement) And then what the verse was telling me was so obvious–that bringing him harm doesn’t necessarily mean physically hurting him, like shooting him, or hitting him, etc. (although of course, that would be wrong, too!), but for me, I may be causing my husband harm when I have his favorite kind of cookies in the house, or make his favorite dessert, and even though having these things in moderation is okay, occasionally, it is my resposibility to make sure that the food we have in our home is not food that can harm him. And to be honest, the cookie thing is really hard for me, because I love to make cookies for my kids! Maybe the solution to that is to make smaller batches, then there’s less for him (and all of us!) to have. So today, I think I will pull out my diabetic cookbooks, and try to find some yummy recipes that wouldn’t make anyone here feel they are missing out on good food! And maybe,I’ll even try modifying some of our favorite recipes. Although, the brownies that I tried to make last week with Splenda, instead of sugar–Not very nice at all!! Turns out that when you replace the sugar with Splenda in things which use the sugar for more than just sweetening, you can only replace 25% of it! I have never seen or tasted worse brownies! I should have read the entire box first, but I did have the best intentions, and that has to count for something!! So, I’m off to find something yummy for supper, that will “bring my husband good, not harm” Posted by Picasa

4 Responses to “Good and not Harm”

  1. Christy Says:

    What a wonderful, practical, lesson for all of us wives. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Shannon Says:

    Very cute picture, yet again. 🙂

  3. Charmin Says:

    Great post, Kim! You’ve challenged me. : )

  4. Meal Planning « Pressing on Toward the Goal Says:

    […] not organized, often it’s easier to just throw some weiners on the BBQ. A year ago, I wrote this post, about how with a diabetic husband, it’s up to me to make sure that I’m not bringing […]


Comments are closed.

